Rockin’ In Pattaya With Jerry Lee Carlson

One of the things I miss about the UK is the gigs I used to attend, especially rock ‘n’ roll and rockabilly genres. Before departing the shores of Scotland, I was working at gigs at least five times a month and taking in many other small venues, wherever there was good live music to be found.

So when I heard about Jerry Lee Carlson’s event at The Robin Hood Tavern in Pattaya, I was swift to act upon the news.

dsc_3671

I contacted the bar to request permission to take photos and the stage was set.

Before heading out, I watched a couple of YouTube videos of Jerry to see what I was in store for and I was presently surprised. Not only was the music good but he was receiving rave reviews from anyone who had seen him playing live.

DSC_3678.jpg

So with great anticipation and excitement, I jumped in a taxi to see what the fuss was all about and whether or not would live up the hype.

I arrived early and enjoyed a meal at the bar washed down with a Tiger Light Beer. I noticed Jerry as he wandered through the bar into the lounge area, so I followed him to see if I could meet the man and maybe get an interview.

DSC_3689.jpg

He suggested I came back during the interval between his two sets, for he was busy with preparations for the gig. His wish was my command and so I returned to my seat to await the arrival of Mr. Carlson on stage.

dsc_3696

There was a slight delay in his appearance due to a few technical difficulties with the PA System, which was resolved as quickly as possibly before the show commenced.

Jerry blasted out pure rock ‘n’ roll at its very best, pounding his keyboard with almost every part of his body.

Great balls of fire, Whole lotta shakin’, Rock around the clock, Johnny B. Goode and Breathless resounded around the spacious tavern.

He worked the keyboard with rapid hands, often too fast for the eye to comprehend. He used his feet and his backside as he demonstrated he is a truly accomplished piano/keyboard player, who knew how to play to an audience.

dsc_3706

He had the crowd exactly where he wanted them for the man is a true showman.

between songs, he chatted away with comical remarks all to the enjoyment of those in attendance.

You can tell when an artist has his or her audience secured and under their spell, for there is no talking while they perform and the only deviation from that was an abundance of cameras recording his songs.

dsc_3710

I looked around and almost every table had at least one phone camera recording video footage, probably for Facebook purposes or to show their friends what they had missed.

Pattaya People were present with their TV camera, so Jerry will be on their news programme soon and there was another photographer there for the duration of his show.

dsc_3712

Following part one, he was true to his word and invited me through to the lounge to have a chat.

Jerry informed he hails from a small town in the south of Sweden called Landskrona, which is on the coast between Helsingborg and Malmo. However, Jerry now resides about 300 KMs north of Stockholm.

He tells me he is 32+ years of age and refused to speak any further on the subject other than to laugh.

dsc_3715

Jerry began his professional career back in 1996 and has continued to belt out rock ‘n’ roll, country, boogie woogie and blues ever since.

Despite having performed in Italy, Spain, America and of course Thailand to name a few countries, he has yet to make an appearance in the UK. So if any of my friends who promote rock ‘n’ roll shows around the country fancy bringing an amazing performer over to the UK, give Jerry a call. He would love to do a tour of Scotland, England Ireland and Wales.

DSC_3717.jpg

He is aware that there is a huge interest in rock ‘n’ roll in the UK so get booking folks.

The rocker is in Pattaya for fourteen days performing a handful of gigs around the city. I for one will be attending at least one more, two if I can manage along.

dsc_3729

He is heavily influenced by the legend that is Jerry Lee Lewis but told me, like his idol, he also covers a lot of other artists such as Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins, Bill Haley, Chuck Berry and many others.

Growing up in Sweden he was inspired by people like Pete Johnson, a boogie woogie, blues and jazz pianist from Kansas City, USA and Fats Domino amongst a number of other piano players from that era.

I mentioned that there were a number of really good boogie woogie pianists from Europe. He said “I doubt it very much.”

He quickly followed with “There is one very good one I know of.”

“What is his name?” I asked.

“Jerry……. Jerry Carlson” as he burst into laughter.

dsc_3740

He continued “I am not being big headed. I am just having a laugh with you, a bit of humour.” This was evident throughout the evening both on and off stage.

I mentioned the failure of the PA System before his first set commenced. He confessed it was a regular occurrence when he is relying on equipment supplied by another band or third party.  One of the pitfalls of travelling the globe I guess.

Jerry prefers playing with a band behind him but it is not always possible due to the expense involved or lack of musicians being available. Personally I would love to see him with a good four or five piece group backing him.

Jerry returned to do his second set to an excited audience, who thoroughly enjoyed his show.

After the event, he was happy to mingle amongst people, conversing wherever he was invited to do so, stop for photos and enjoy the rest of the evening’s entertainment.

dsc_3786

I found the Jerry to be an excellent entertainer, a talent musician and a friendly, humorous man.

If you haven’t seen him play, watch out for him. He is well worth making the effort to go and see.

The second act of the night was a trio called “Rose and Thorn” who were brilliant too. Jerry Lee had them rocking before this trio followed him with some classic rock and dance hits.

Congratulations to The Robin Hood Tavern for giving Pattaya exactly what it requires – an excellent music venue with some top entertainers.

More live music please 🙂

Videos of Jerry Carlson live

Jerry Lee Carlson Live Click to view

Jerry Lee Carlson Legends Show Click to view

World’s fastest boogie woogie player Click to view

Jerry singing Roll Over Beethoven and Whole Lotta Shakin’ Click to View

I saw her standing there Click to view

High School Confidential Click to view

 

 

Leave a Reply

