Mini Siam

My third tourist attraction of the weekend and probably the one I would put in third place for enjoyment was Mini Siam. I should clarify this by stating that although Mini Siam sits in a beautiful setting, has much to offer tourists if you’re seeking a quiet stroll around a tranquil environment, then this is exactly what you are looking for.

tower

However for me, I was there for one thing only – pictures.

Yes there is much to see and photograph but it is very difficult to capture the displays because of tourists. A bit of a dilemma then, seeing as the park is designed with visitors in mind.

Another problem for the camera man is the amount of lights and fences placed around the ornamental buildings, for they simply become obstructions, getting in the way of the viewing angles.

dsc_1727

So from my point of view, it was sadly a waste of time but I did enjoy the stroll around the attraction nevertheless.

If I was on holiday and involved in a bit of sightseeing then I would say this is a place that most would enjoy – providing you are not after something exciting. This goes for many of the big hitters in Thailand. The Temples etc are places of interest and of a peaceful nature.

dsc_1735

It is a wonderful place to peruse and walk slowly amongst the various miniature buildings of Europe and Siam.

It is situated on Sukhumvit Road a few miles north of where I am based. My cost for the day was 80 Baht each way on a taxi bike and 300 Baht for the entry fee. I enjoyed a cold beer for 45 Baht, which is less than even the cheapest bars will charge you.

DSC_1738.jpg

The heat was incredible but there is a variety of cafes selling ice cream, cold drinks and my favourite, ice cold beer, which is most welcome following 90 minutes of torture in the sun.

I did see a large Chinese restaurant but alas it was closed, probably opening for business later in the day.

dsc_1842

Mini Siam opened its doors for business in 1986 with the first creation being The Democracy Monument in Bangkok.

It features many Thai landmarks such as Wat Phra Kaeo, Wat Arun (Temple of Dawn) and The Victory Monument and many more.

dsc_1760

For Europe there is the Arc De Triomphe, The Eiffel Tower and Tower Bridge to name a few.

Although these others come under the tag of Europe on their website, ideally they should be listed as The rest of the world. These include The Statue of Liberty and the Opera House in Sydney.

There are of course many more but I won’t bore you with too many details.

As I suggested when I commenced this post, I was rather disappointed in my chosen venue but not for reasons that should put you off visiting. It is value for money and worth a look.

dsc_1730

 

Leave a Reply

