My Return To Women’s Football

Today I made my return to photographing Women’s football matches after being offered the role by Glasgow City.

DSC_4989smallPreviously I have covered Men’s Junior football for three years or so before moving on to help the SWF with promotion of the ladies’ game. Following a six month break, I returned to work with FC Kilmarnock Ladies, where my responsibilities included photographer, match reporter, web and social media administrator along with being an active committee member.

However after 18 months or so with Killie, I felt that I had taken the role as far as I could and decided to step down and move away from football for a while.

DSC_7026

The opportunity to work with City was unexpected and following next to no negotiation at all, I returned to the land of grass and the round ball, capturing images from Bishopton v Glasgow City Development. The latter ran out handsome winners with a 7-0 scoreline but nevertheless, the home side displayed plenty of courage and determination during the match.

DSC_5016smallI have received a warm welcome from the City girls, despite only knowing three or four of the squad and look forward to many more rewarding days on the sidelines armed with my Nikons.

And to round the day off – for once I was dry despite being chilled by a strong gusty wind blowing around Erskine.

Leave a Reply

